5 Pillars of Islam and their meaning in English

Five Pillars of Islam pictures

What are the five pillars of Islam and what do they mean?

5 pillars of Islam called Arkān al-Islām in the Arabic language. Islam has 5 Obligations that every Muslim must fulfill which are Shahadah, Salah, Zakat, Fasting, and Hajj. These five pillars of Islam define the identity of Muslims.

Following are the five pillars of Islam in order:

1. Shahadah

Shahadah (Faith) is the first pillar of Islam, One can’t be Muslim unless he believes and declares that “There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad (peace be upon Him) is the messenger of Allah”
Click here to learn more about Shahadah – The First Pillar of Islam

2. Salah (Prayer)

Salah/Namaz/Prayer is the second pillar of Islam. There are 5 times a day Obligatory prayers: 1. Fajr (The dawn prayer), 2. Zuhr (The noon prayer), 3. Asr (The afternoon prayer), 4. Maghrib (The sunset prayer), 5. Isha (The night prayer)
Prayer (Salah) – The Second Pillar of Islam

3. Zakat

Zakat is an obligatory payment. Every Muslim who has enough wealth to pay zakat has to pay 2.5 percent of his wealth annually.
Zakat (Alms) – The Third Pillar of Islam

4. Fasting

Fasting/Sawm/Roza of Ramadan is generally customary to abstain from food, drink, smoking, and sexual activity. Muslim has to fast during the month of Ramadan
Sawm (Fasting During Ramadan) – The Fourth Pillar of Islam

5. Hajj

Hajj is a Pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca in Saudi Arabia, that every adult Muslim must do at least once in his life. Hajj begins on the seventh day of Islamic month Dhū al-Ḥijjah and ends on the 12th day of Dhū al-Ḥijjah.
Hajj (Pilgrimage) – The Fifth Pillar of Islam

Leave a Comment