Iman e Mufassal and Iman e Mujmal

There are six kalmias that Muslims know and learn since their childhood. Apart from the six basic kalmias, Iman e Mufassal and Iman e Mujmal are the two concepts/kalima mentioned in scholarly works, particularly in the volumes of ‘Aqeedah (Islamic Creed). So long as the definitions convey the same meaning as that provided by scholars, Muslims are permissible to recite these two kalmias as well.

Iman e Mufassal (The detailed declaration of faith)

iman e Mufassal

I have faith in ALLAH and His Angels, His Books and His Messengers, and the Day of Judgement and that all good and evil and fate is from Almighty ALLAH and it is sure that there will be resurrection after death.

The faith of a Muslim is to believe in the six pillars of Islam generally. And those six faiths are:

  1. Belief in the existence and oneness of ALLAH SWT.
  2. Belief in the existence of angels.
  3. Belief in the existence of the books of ALLAH SWT: The Quran (revealed to Prophet Muhammad SAW), the Gospel (revealed to Prophet Jesus), the Torah (revealed to prophets and messengers amongst the Children of Israel), Psalms (revealed to Prophet David), the Scrolls of Moses, and the Scrolls of Abraham.
  4. Belief in the existence of prophets: Muhammad SAW being the last of them.
  5. Belief in the existence of the Day of Judgment.
  6. Belief in the existence of ALLAH’s predestination (qadar, ‘Divine Decree’) due to God’s omniscience, whether it involves good or bad.

If a Muslim lacks Imaan, he is not considered a true believer so a Muslim needs to testify to his/her faith not only by tongue but he/she has to accept with heart.

Imaan-e-Mufassal (or the Detailed declaration of faith) is a verse of the Holy Quran as well.

Righteousness is not that you turn your faces toward the east or the west, but righteousness believes in ALLAH SWT, the Last Day, the angels, the Book, and the prophets and gives wealth, despite the love for it, to relatives, orphans, the needy, the traveler, those who ask for help and for freeing slaves;(and who) establishes prayer and gives zakah; [those who] fulfill their promise when they promise; and [those who] are patient in poverty and hardship and during battle. Those are the ones who have been true, and it is those who are righteous. (Qur’an 2:177)

Iman e Mujmal (The summary declaration of faith)

Iman e Mujmal

Iman e Mujmal:
I have faith in ALLAH as He is known by His Name and attributes and I accept all His commands.

Every Muslim believes in the six pillars of Islam, apart from the six pillars of Islam, a Muslim must know all the beautiful names of ALLAH SWT who is the sustainer and runs all the affairs of His slaves. A Muslim must not associate anyone as a partner with ALLAH SWT.

ALLAH SWT mentioned in the Holy Quran that those who do not believe in these pillars are considered disbelievers.

And whoever disbelieves in Allaah, His angels, His books, His messengers, and the Last Day has certainly gone far astray (Quran 4:136)

Leave a Comment