5 Pillars of Islam and their meaning in English


What are the five pillars of Islam and what do they mean? 5 pillars of Islam called Arkān al-Islām in the Arabic language. Islam has 5 Obligations that every Muslim must fulfill which are Shahadah, Salah, Zakat, Fasting, and Hajj. These five pillars of Islam define the identity of Muslims. Following are the five pillars … Read more

Hajj (Pilgrimage) – The Fifth Pillar of Islam

Hajj (Pilgrimage)

What is Hajj? Hajj is the 5th pillar of Islam. It is a visit to the holy city of Mecca in Saudi Arabia, which every adult Muslim must do at least once in his life. Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islamic practices and institutions, known as the five pillars of Islam. The Hajj pilgrimage … Read more

Sawm (Fasting During Ramadan) – The Fourth Pillar of Islam


What is Fasting In Islam, fasting is generally customary to abstain from food, drink, smoking, and sexual activity. During the Islamic holy month of Ramadan, fasting is between the dawn and evening azan. One should do fasting for the whole month of Ramadan. Fasting is also called Sawm or Raza, It’s the Fourth Pillar of … Read more

Zakat (Alms) – The Third Pillar of Islam


What is Zakat in Islam? Zakat is the Third Pillar of Islam. The word Zakat means ‘purity, progress, blessings, and praise’ and in practice, it means to give money or food to the poor. Zakat is a form of charity or tax given in Islam as a religious obligation which according to the Quranic hierarchy … Read more

Prayer (Salah) – The Second Pillar of Islam


Prayer is the second pillar of Islam. The second pillar of Islam is the religious duty to perform five daily prayers. It is believed that all adult Muslims should perform five prayers, before which the body should be cleaned at various intervals of the day. The Qur’anic references also mention the acts of standing, bowing, … Read more

The Profession of Faith (Shahadah) – The First Pillar of Islam


The Profession of Faith (Shahadah) is considered the most basic expression of Islamic teachings. And it is the first pillar of Islam. In Arabic, the word Shahadah refers to ‘testimony’. The first kalimah ‘La ilaha illlahu Muhamadu Rasoolulah’ has two main concepts: There is no God but Allah. Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be … Read more